Quick Exit

What to do if you are worried about an adult

Abuse and Neglect


Abuse and Neglect

The Care Act 2014 identifies a number of different types and patterns of abuse and neglect and the circumstances in which they may take place.

It is important to note that professionals should not limit their view on what constitutes abuse or neglect, as they can take many forms and the circumstances and wishes of the individual must always be considered.

Incidents of abuse may be one-off or multiple, and affect one person or more.          Safegaurding

Types of abuse highlighted in The Care Act include:

  • Physical Abuse
  • Domestic violence or abuse
  • Sexual abuse
  • Psychological abuse
  • Financial or material abuse
  • Modern slavery
  • Discriminatory abuse
  • Organisational or institutional abuse
  • Neglect and acts of omission
  • Self-neglect

For a fuller account of the types and indicators of abuse and neglect refer to your local safeguarding procedures and /or follow the link below: